11/23/19: Carlsbad Caverns

We got up a bit after 8 and went over for the free breakfast which was pretty basic even by hotel standards. They did have a waffle machine so I was ok. After breakfast we got ready and left to go check out the Carlsbad Caverns. We stopped at Starbucks on the way for a caffeine boost and a chance to improve upon the weak breakfast. It was about a half hour drive to the Caverns and, once there, we bought an annual National Park pass that will keep us good through November of next year.

We chose to do the “natural” entrance to the caverns which basically means you walk down instead of taking the elevator. The elevator takes you down about 800 feet under the visitor center. I hadn’t been to the caverns since likely around 1983 when I visited on a family road trip. I know this because one of the formations there is called the “Rock of Ages” and David and I thought that was funny due to the Def Leppard song of the same name being popular at the time we were there. Pyromania, the album that song was on, was released in 1983. It was cool to see the caverns with “adult eyes”. Even though I was around 16 when I first visited I appreciated it more this time. Before entering the caves we got a talking to about what not to do when down there. While Joyce was using the restroom I was told by the ranger that many people can’t handle the 1-2 hour gap between this bathroom stop and the one at the bottom of the caves and end up “deucing” down in the caves. Apparently this happens more in the winter when there are fewer visitors to interrupt than in the summer when far more people are in the caves. Who knew? I let him know we had the same issues at Charlotte Russe with people occasionally “deucing” in our dressing rooms.

The walk down the “natural” entrance was pretty easy and the only issue was some slick sections due to water on path. Not a problem with my new LL Bean boots. About half way through the caverns I noticed that Joyce wasn’t close by anymore. I checked a bit back and forwards but couldn’t find her. I assumed she was ahead so I continued on. At a point in the trail where I could opt for the long route or the short route I went long. Still not finding Joyce I hurried through this part of the trail which was less scenic than most of the other parts of the caves. When I got to the bathrooms and cafe area she was not there so I went up the elevator and checked around the visitor center but still no Joyce. I dropped off my pack in the Jeep and then returned to the visitor center where I took the elevator back down to the caves. I also got to hear the “what not to do in the cave” schpiel again. Once I stepped out of the elevator I found Joyce. Whew! We snacked on some Clif bars at the cafe and then took the elevator back up to the visitor’s center.

The “natural” entrance.


Near the entrance.


Another cool formation in the caves.


Wasn’t this a Yes album cover?


Def Leppard liked this enough to write a song about it.

We walked around the visitor’s center for a bit and then took off. On the drive out I noticed a scenic route off of the road just a bit away from where we had parked. It was a dirt road so we decided to check it out. It was well graded but I put it in 4-wheel drive just to get everything lubed up in there. It was a 10 mile one way road and there were a few trails to hike down there if we wanted to stop. Once back on the main road we drove back to the hotel and rested up a bit. We decided to get dinner at the Yellow Brix Restaurant and it ended up being pretty good. Joyce got some calamari she thought was decent and I got a great Cuban panini sandwich with truffle fries. The sandwich had pulled pork, cheese, chilis and pickles. Very good but not too healthy. We also tried a couple of local beers that were just average. After dinner we made sure to fill up the tank. It only took less than 5 gallons but we learned that you can”t be too careful!

The Jeep dominating the graded dirt road.


Proof that we were there.

 

Leave a comment